Skip to Content

Member & Association Achievements

NCBFAA is the U.S. organization representing the business of customs brokers, freight forwarders, non-vessel-operating common carriers (NVOCCs), and ocean transportation intermediaries as transportation facilitators and logistics professionals in their dealings with government officials, industry, and each other. NCBFAA advocates for and provides leadership to its members; provides education to promote professional growth; provide legislative activities; and serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas.

NCBFAA members are actively promoting the industry.  We celebrate the achievements of our members whose efforts help create a dynamic and robust community.  Elevating the success of our members is our goal! We would like to recognize the commitment, initiative, and leadership of individuals in the field.  Your efforts are an inspiration that drives our association.


NCBFAA Achievements

The NCBFAA has been working to improve our industry for more than 125 years. Below are a few of our achievements and ongoing projects. A full listing of past NCBFAA work can be found in the NCBFAA Annual Report.

NCBFAA Receives Presidential "E" Award for Exports

On May 17, 2012, the National Customs Brokers & Forwarders Association of America, Inc. (NCBFAA) was awarded the Presidential “E” Award for Exports by U.S. Department of Commerce Secretary John Bryson at the White House in Washington, D.C. The “E” Award is the highest recognition any U.S. entity may receive for making a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports.

NCBFAA Centurion Award   

The NCBFAA Centurion Award was established in 2006 by then NCBFAA President Federico (Kiko) Zuniga to be the association's highest recognition to an individual member for his or her dedication to the customs brokerage industry. 

2006: Arthur L. Litman
2007: Harvey Issacs
2008: Paul Wegener
2009: Leonard Shayne
2010: Peter H. Powell, Sr. 
2011: Harold G. Brauner
2013: Kenneth Bargtell
2015: Mary Ann Comstock
2019: William (Billy) App
2020: Johnathan (Jon) H. Kent
2021: Edward D. Greenberg
2023: Mary Jo Muoio


NCBFAA Appointments

The NCBFAA is proud to support and recognize our members who are actively involved in serving our industry through their appointments to various federal government advisory committees:

  • Customs and Border Protection – Commercial Customs Operations Advisory Committee (COAC)
  • Customs and Border Protection – Customs Electronic Systems Action Committee (CESAC)
  • Federal Maritime Commission: National Shipper Advisory Committee
  • Transportation Security Administration: ASAC (Aviation Security Advisory Committee) Air Cargo Subcommittee

NCBFAA Scholarship Award

Each year, NCBFAA offers a competitive $5,000 scholarship to help future members of our industry achieve their goal in furthering their education. This scholarship, provided generously by Roanoke Insurance Group Inc., helps offset the costs students accrue while learning the skills they'll need to succeed in a career in Customs Brokerage, Freight Forwarding or related field, such as international trade. The NCBFAA Scholarship Committee selects the essay topic. The winner of the scholarship is recognized during the NCBFAA Annual Conference. 

2022 Winner

Alexander Jansen

Read the Winning Essay

2021 Winner

Daniela Piperno

Read the Winning Essay