2021 GAC eBlasts

 

September 13, 2021

 

Ready, Set, and Go to the GAC!

 

The 2021 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference (GAC) is now a week away, but you still have the next few days to register for this important event on regulatory and legislative matters that significantly impact our industry.

 

If you are attending in-person, do not forget to finalize your Grand Hyatt Washington reservation as soon as possible. Some registrants still need to complete this step.

 

Our conference day on Monday, Sept. 20, includes top-notch speakers and experts from Capitol Hill and federal agencies in charge of overseeing our nation’s cross-border trade. Check out the program here.

 

Registered attendees—both in-person and virtual—will receive more details to prepare for the Sept. 19-21 GAC in an email on Tuesday, Sept. 14. Virtual attendees will receive their link to the Sept. 20 conference on Thursday, Sept. 16.

 

Thanks again for your participation and we look forward to seeing you there!

 

********

September 8, 2021

 

Still Time to Make Congressional Appointments for 2021 NCBFAA GAC!

 

The Sept. 19-21 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference is just around the corner! This is your time to interface with your elected officials on Capitol Hill and let them know what legislative issues matter to our industry. If you have not done so already, there is still time during next week to schedule those appointments with your House Representatives and Senators.

 

Please note the following details:

 

  • More offices are excited to welcome folks back to the Hill, but there will be some offices that will not yet be open for visits. In the past, we have been able to hang out in the buildings and grab coffee or lunch between meetings, but this year visitors that register will be escorted out after meetings. For those that do get in-person meetings, that means that there will be screenings through security in different buildings multiple times throughout the day.
  • On the conference registration site, NCBFAA provides letter templates in Word document format which you can download and customize for setting up appointments with your elected representatives and senators on Capitol Hill.
  • Be sure to review the NCBFAA “Critical Issues” in preparation for your Hill visits! As of right now, we have one position paper available on the website as well as a few of our key legislative issues. As we get closer to the event, more will become available. Hard copies of the final position papers will be available at the registration desk onsite.
  • Tuesday’s debriefing time and reception locations will subsequently take place at UNO Pizzeria & Grill, 50 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington, D.C. 20002 from 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. and 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., respectively.

 

If you are attending virtually, you can still arrange to speak with your lawmakers virtually to address these important topics to our industry.

 

The Grand Hyatt is following CDC guidelines for mask wearing, meaning masks must be worn in all public spaces of the hotel.

 

There is still time to register! We look forward to seeing you there!

 

********

September 1, 2021

 

GAC Early Bird Extended, Get Involved in This Top-Notch Event!

 

NCBFAA has extended its early bird registration for the Government Affairs Conference (GAC) to be held in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 19-21. Take advantage of this top-notch event and effect positive change in the nation’s capital on legislative and regulatory matters that impact your industry!

 

Critical issues at this year’s GAC include the 2021 Customs Business Fairness Act (CBFA), the 21st Century Customs and Trade Framework (21CCF), and the 2021 Ocean Shipping Reform Act.

 

CBFA was included in Section 1001 of Public Law 116-260 to protect customs brokers from an inequitable and inefficient aspect of the U.S. bankruptcy code. Section 1001 is scheduled to sunset at the end of this year, and it is important that NCBFAA throw its lobby muscle behind H.R. 4816 to make CBFA permanent.

 

Since Customs and Border Protection (CBP) announced the 21CCF earlier this year, NCBFAA has been working tirelessly to ensure that our industry is part of this initiative to lay the groundwork for what the agency will look like and how it will operate during the rest of this century.

 

Reps. John Garamendi (D-CA) and Dusty Johnson (R-SD) on Aug. 10 introduced the Ocean Shipping Reform Act of 2021 (OSRA 2021).  If passed, the legislation would mark the first major update of federal regulations since 1998. The bill aims to address complaints from the shipping industry regarding supply chain congestion, as well as COVID-19 related disruptions. It also seeks to support American exports and address the U.S.’s current trade imbalance with China and other countries.

 

Our position papers for these topics will be made available on the 2021 GAC “Critical Issues” webpage as they are released, so please check in accordingly.

 

For Sept. 20, NCBFAA conference organizers have also brought together an impressive lineup of leading government speakers, including FMC Chairman Daniel Maffei, CBP Office of Trade Deputy Executive Assistant Commissioner John Leonard, FDA Assistant Commissioner of Imports Dan Solis, FWS ACE Coordinator Rhyan Thompkins, and USDA National Organic Program Deputy Administrator Jennifer Tucker, who will participate on panels covering various important trade topics impacting our industry.

 

Check out the GAC program here.

 

Register today and continue to take advantage of the early bird special which will expire this Friday, Sept. 3! To utilize the NCBFAA group rate at the Grand Hyatt Washington, you must first register for the conference before you receive the hotel booking link. 

 

Don’t miss out on this GAC presentation, as well as other regulatory and trade policy topics to be addressed that impact the full spectrum of our daily and future operations!

 

********

August 25, 2021

 

NCBFAA GAC Goes On!

 

As the Sept. 19-21 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference nears, some registrants have voiced concern whether the in-person event will be canceled due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

 

The only way GAC will be canceled is if the D.C. government deems it impossible to hold and that’s the only way it will be cancelled. NCBFAA will not cancel this event.

 

If the D.C. government orders the cancellation of the conference or your company travel suddenly becomes restricted, you may switch to virtual registration with no penalty. However, in-person attendees must cancel their hotel rooms 24-hours in advance. The Sept. 20 conference panels will still be presented virtually.

 

You are always encouraged to exercise proper social distancing and masking during travel and at any public events. The District of Columbia requires mask wearing indoors.

 

For Sept. 20, NCBFAA conference organizers have brought together an impressive lineup of leading government speakers, including FMC Chairman Daniel Maffei, CBP Office of Trade Deputy Executive Assistant Commissioner John Leonard, FDA Assistant Commissioner of Imports Dan Solis, FWS ACE Coordinator Rhyan Thompkins, and USDA National Organic Program Deputy Administrator Jennifer Tucker, who will participate on panels covering various important trade topics impacting our industry.

 

Check out the GAC program here.

 

Register today and take advantage of the early bird special which ends Aug. 27! To take advantage of the NCBFAA group rate at the Grand Hyatt Washington, you must register for the conference before you get the hotel booking link.

 

Don’t miss out on this GAC presentation, as well as other regulatory and trade policy topics to be addressed that impact the full spectrum of our daily and future operations!

 

*********

August 18, 2021

 

NCBFAA Establishes Top-Notch Lineup of GAC Speakers and Panels!

 

The NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference (GAC) in Washington, D.C., has become the must-attend annual event for customs brokers, freight forwarders, and NVOCCs to gain knowledge of and effect change on legislation and regulations that impact the success of their day-to-day business.

 

Continued upheaval in the U.S. supply chain and legislative and regulatory responses to ever-changing cross-border trade makes this GAC, scheduled Sept. 19-21, even more important to attend.

 

For Sept. 20, NCBFAA conference organizers have brought together an impressive lineup of leading government speakers, including FMC Chairman Daniel Maffei, CBP Office of Trade Deputy Executive Assistant Commissioner John Leonard, FDA Assistant Commissioner of Imports Dan Solis, FWS ACE Coordinator Rhyan Thompkins, and USDA National Organic Program Deputy Administrator Jennifer Tucker, who will participate on panels covering various important trade topics impacting our industry.

 

Check out the GAC program here.

 

Register today and take advantage of the early bird special! Don’t miss out on this GAC presentation, as well as other regulatory and trade policy topics to be addressed that impact the full spectrum of our daily and future operations!

 

********

August 11, 2021

 

FMC Chairman Maffei to Address NCBFAA at 2021 GAC

 

With the U.S. supply chain in a state of crisis from the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) has become front-and-center in the nation’s effort to use its administrative and regulatory powers under the Shipping Act to ensure “competition and integrity to America’s ocean supply chain.”

 

NCBFAA is honored to have FMC Chairman Daniel Maffei address our membership at this year’s Government Affairs Conference (GAC) on Sept. 20 in Washington, D.C., regarding important topics impacting freight forwarding and NVOCC operations, as well as importer and exporter customers, and what the agency is doing about it.

 

Currently, NCBFAA is working closely with the FMC and its commissioners to find solutions. President Biden’s recent Executive Order encourages the FMC to “vigorously enforce” the prohibition of unjust and unreasonable practices. Our Transportation Committee Vice Chair Rich Roche has prepared procedures found here, which members are encouraged to pass along to their clients to supply details that support the FMC investigations. 

 

Register today! Don’t miss out on this GAC presentation, as well as other regulatory and trade policy topics to be addressed that impact the full spectrum of our daily and future operations!

 

********

August 4, 2021

 

Lobby for the 2021 Customs Business Fairness Act at the GAC!

 

There are lots of reasons why you should attend this year’s NCBFAA's Government Affairs Conference (GAC) in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 19-21, but one of the biggest is to lobby your congressional members on Capitol Hill to support passage of the Customs Business Fairness Act (CBFA) that was introduced in the 117th Congress last week as H.R. 4816.

 

CBFA was included in Section 1001 of Public Law 116-260 to protect customs brokers from an inequitable and inefficient aspect of the U.S. bankruptcy code. Section 1001 is scheduled to sunset at the end of the year and H.R. 4816 is a renewed effort to make it permanent. Through a technical amendment, this law allowed customs brokers to be “subrogated” to the priority rights of CBP for duties paid by the customs broker on behalf of an importer that subsequently files bankruptcy. This change recognized that the customs broker has simply provided the funds to CBP on behalf of the importer and protected the broker from having to pay a bankruptcy court an amount that approximated duties paid to CBP.

 

This law deserves to be permanent in the U.S. bankruptcy code, and H.R. 4816 sets out to do that. By attending the GAC, you have an opportunity to influence Congress to make this happen!

 

The NCBFAA Legislative Committee, along with our Legislative Counsel Whitmer & Worrall, have prepared a template letter and fact sheet for you to circulate to your congressional members asking for their support.

 

Register today to attend the GAC for as low as $375! To book your room, you'll need to register for the GAC first before we send you a hotel reservation link to use to secure your room. Registration is filling up fast and our room block is starting to sell out!

 

We hope that you will join us in Washington, D.C., for what is shaping up to be a most significant GAC!

 

********

July 28, 2021

 

Register for the GAC and Reserve Your Spot Today!

 

NCBFAA's Government Affairs Conference (GAC) is almost here! If you haven't yet registered for the industry's most political event of the year, you'll want to act as soon as possible!

 

You still have time to attend the industry's most politically important event of the year for as low as $375! To book your room, you'll need to register for the GAC first before we send you a hotel reservation link to use to secure your room. Registration is filling up fast and our room block is starting to sell out! Register today to ensure your stay at the conference hotel!

 

As for the conference, we know that it can sometimes be difficult to leave your daily responsibilities to come to these events. We've made sure that this year's conference is worth your time. We have arranged more than a dozen informative sessions and panels led by subject matter experts to get you up to speed with the latest legislative and regulatory changes sweeping trade. These sessions will get you ready for the annual Capitol Hill visit on Tuesday, Sept. 21, where you'll engage with your congressional representatives to make sure they understand the implications and ramifications of any trade-related legislation placed before them! We've also scheduled networking session breaks throughout the conference so you can connect with your peers and forge lasting bonds even when the event comes to an end! There is so much value in the Government Affairs Conference that you would be doing yourself a disservice by not attending!

 

We hope that you'll be able to join us in Washington, D.C., for what is shaping up to be a most significant GAC!

 

********

 

July 21, 2021

 

Rep. Estes of the House Ways and Means Committee to Address 2021 GAC

 

Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS) of the House Ways and Means Committee’s Trade Subcommittee will address the NCBFAA membership during the 2021 Government Affairs Conference (GAC) in September.

 

Estes is tentatively scheduled to lead the GAC’s Breakfast Session on Tuesday, Sept. 21.

 

The congressman will be among a list of top-notch speakers from the customs broker and freight forwarding industry, regulatory agencies with trade oversight, and Capitol Hill.

 

As July begins to slip away, we encourage you to register today for the 2021 GAC on Sept. 19-21 in Washington D.C. Be sure to take advantage of the Aug. 27 early bird registration deadline of Aug. 27 before you leave on summer vacation.

 

After making your conference registration, you will receive an email with a link to use to book your room at the Grand Hyatt Washington. We have secured a special room block rate of $265 per night.

 

If you have questions upon registration, please review the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) portion of the Conference website for all that you might need to know in advance!

 

We look forward to seeing you soon in Washington, D.C.!

 

********

 

July 14, 2021

 

Special Discounted GAC Registrations Available to Certain First Timers

 

As an added incentive for those of you who volunteer with your local Association but have never attended an NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference (GAC) before, you may be able to save 50% on your 2021 GAC registration. Simply contact your local Affiliated Association; you will find them here and ask about the Emerging Leaders Mentor Program (ELMP).

 

Through the ELMP, each of the NCBFAA's 29 Affiliated Associations may submit the ELMP form for one selected individual to receive a 50% discount on an individual registration for the GAC. The discount only applies to the cost of the individual registration, not to spouses or guests. But any qualified individual may ask their local NCBFAA Affiliated Association to consider them for the discount.

 

To qualify, the first timer, submitted by the local Affiliated Association, must be (1) a Government Affairs Conference first-time attendee, and (2) employed by an NCBFAA Regular Member company in good standing. You must have the form into us and register by the Early Bird deadline and if you register first, you will be ineligible. For more information on the Emerging Leaders Mentor Program (ELMP) please click here.

 

If you are a customs broker, ocean freight forwarder, non-vessel-operating common carrier, indirect air carrier, drawback specialist, or manager or executive of a logistics services provider (and qualify for NCBFAA membership), you should join us at the 2021 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference this year!

 

Register here now! 

 

On the conference registration site, NCBFAA provides letter templates in Word document format which you can download and customize for setting up appointments with your elected representatives and senators on Capitol Hill. If you are planning to attend the Government Affairs Conference, we urge you to begin pursuing those appointments now!

 

Please note that unlike in previous years the Government Affairs Conference will be held at the Grand Hyatt Washington instead of the Hyatt Regency. You will receive details about booking your hotel stay upon registration for the event.

 

We look forward to seeing you there!

 

********

 

July 7, 2021

 

Preparing for the 2021 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference!

 

We are excited to see everyone for this year’s NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C. on Sept. 19-21! With the in-person environment changing weekly in the D.C. metro, we know that there will be post-Covid changes to our conference this year. Some of our changes that we know at this point are detailed below and are subject to change.

 

  • More offices are excited to welcome folks back to the Hill, but there will be some offices that will not yet be open for visits. In the past, we have been able to hang out in the buildings and grab coffee or lunch between meetings, but this year visitors that register will be escorted out after meetings. For those that do get in-person meetings, that means that there will be screenings through security in different buildings multiple times throughout the day.
  • Tuesday’s debriefing time and reception locations will change for the 2021 conference. We are talking with a couple of local venues that may meet what the NCBFAA will require for both the debriefing and the usual reception in a location off the Hill.
  • The Grand Hyatt is following CDC guidelines for mask wearing, in that wearing masks will be optional for those that are fully vaccinated, but masks will be recommended if you are not fully vaccinated.

 

Register here today!

 

If you are a customs broker, ocean freight forwarder, non-vessel-operating common carrier, indirect air carrier, drawback specialist, or manager or executive of a logistics services provider (and qualify for NCBFAA membership), you should join us at the 2021 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference this year!

 

On the conference registration site, NCBFAA provides letter templates in Word document format which you can download and customize for setting up appointments with your elected representatives and senators on Capitol Hill. If you are planning to attend the Government Affairs Conference, we urge you to begin pursuing those appointments now!

 

Please note that unlike in previous years the Government Affairs Conference will be held at the Grand Hyatt Washington instead of the Hyatt Regency. You will receive details about booking your hotel stay upon registration for the event.

 

We look forward to seeing you there!

 

********

 

June 30, 2021

 

Registration Open for 2021 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference!

 

With a new administration in the White House, tragic aftereffects of the coronavirus pandemic, and epic supply chain disruption, the need for political engagement from the customs broker and freight forwarder industry has never been stronger. Therefore, it is essential that you attend this year’s NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 19-21.

 

Each year NCBFAA members from across the country gather in the nation’s capital to learn about timely and critical industry changes influenced by Capitol Hill lawmakers, the White House, and federal regulators. Specifically, meeting with elected officials helps ensure they understand the implications of any trade-related legislation placed before them. By participating in the Government Affairs Conference, you can effectively shape and grow our industry.

 

If you are a customs broker, ocean freight forwarder, non-vessel-operating common carrier, indirect air carrier, drawback specialist, or manager or executive of a logistics services provider (and qualify for NCBFAA membership), you should join us at the 2021 NCBFAA Government Affairs Conference this year!

 

On the conference registration site, NCBFAA provides letter templates in Word document format which you can download and customize for setting up appointments with your elected representatives and senators on Capitol Hill. If you are planning to attend the Government Affairs Conference, we urge you to begin pursuing those appointments now!

 

Please note that unlike in previous years the Government Affairs Conference will be held at the Grand Hyatt Washington instead of the Hyatt Regency. You will receive details about booking your hotel stay upon registration for the event.

 

We look forward to seeing you there!

 

********

June 28, 2021

Get Ready for the 2021 Government Affairs Conference!

We are getting set to release our details for registration for the NCBFAA’s 2021 Government Affairs Conference which will be held Sept. 20-22 in Washington, D.C.! While we are finalizing the logistics and conference specifics as a team, we plan to meet in person. We understand that it may still be difficult for some of you to travel to Washington this year, so we plan to offer a virtual option for just our Monday sessions.

As usual, the affiliated associations will make their own appointments for Capitol Hill. During this unusual year, we would ask that you first try to make an in-person appointment. If the congressional staff requests an alternate meeting location, suggest meeting outside the building or somewhere nearby so that its convenient for the staff or member to meet with your group. We also plan to have designated meeting space for you and your congressional staff close to the Hill if there is no way to meet in the appropriate office. If meetings are held virtually, it would be great if the local association groups can gather safely in or around the hotel to discuss white paper topics with your congressional offices. 

Given the change to an in-person environment and protections set out on the Hill, we are adjusting our plans so that we still have a Tuesday reception and debriefing. Those details will be released to you soon.

Please note that we will be staying at the Grand Hyatt in the downtown Washington. Registration and hotel details will be available June 30.

We look forward to seeing you in Washington, D.C.!

 

NATIONAL CUSTOMS BROKERS & FORWARDERS ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, INC. Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved.   Powered by MemberMax